A select team of individuals who carry the name and hopes of the Hino brand

Hino Motors has teamed up with Team Sugawara to enter two HINO500 Series trucks in Dakar Rally 2017. HINO TEAM SUGAWARA is led by Yoshimasa Sugawara, who has a Dakar Rally-record 34 consecutive entries under his belt, and his son Teruhito Sugawara. Team members include a mechanic and navigators who have the full confidence of the Sugawaras, as well as a mechanic sub-leader who plays a critical role in production processes with his expert skills, a crew of expert mechanics chosen from applicants from Hino dealers nationwide. In addition, dealerships in the countries where the rally will be held have set up truck servicing bases where the trucks will undergo servicing immediately prior to racing. The entire Hino group has come together as a team to take on this challenge.


Dakar Rally 2018

Yoshimasa Sugawara

Team director and driver of Car 1
Chairman, Japan Racing Management Co., Ltd.
Born on May 31, 1941 (Otaru, Hokkaido)
After numerous races in Japan and expeditions including a trans-Sahara Desert run, Yoshimasa started in the Paris-Dakar Rally for the first time in 1983 (age 41) in the Motorcycle category. He then raced in the Cars category for seven events, and has been racing HINO500 Series trucks since 1992. He has had six second-place finishes in the Trucks category, and won seven championships in the Under 10-litre Class. He holds the Dakar Rally record for 34 consecutive starts. His records for Most Consecutive Finishes in the Dakar Rally at 20 Finishes were recognized in Guinness World Records 2009, and Most Consecutive Entries in the Dakar Rally at 34 Entries were recognized in Guinness World Records 2017.

Teruhito Sugawara

Driver of Car 2
President, Japan Racing Management Co., Ltd.
Born on July 13, 1972 (Minato-ku, Tokyo)
Teruhito Sugawara, Yoshimasa Sugawara’s second son, first joined the Dakar Rally team in 1998 as a mechanic, and subsequently navigated for his father. During this time, he also gained racing experience in off-road races in Japan, as well as in Rally Mongolia. In 2003, he raced a HINO500 Series truck to a Trucks category win in the Pharaoh Rally in Egypt. He began racing alongside his father in a two-truck lineup in the Dakar Rally in 2005, and won his first championship in the Under 10-litre Class in 2007. His 2017 win was his eighth straight championship in the Class.

Katsumi Hamura

Navigator of Car 1
President, Just Speed
Born on September 3,1966 (Koganei-shi, Tokyo)
Hamura has navigated for Yoshimasa Sugawara for a total of 14 times* since he first navigated in the Dakar Rally 1992.
* 1992, 1994-1997, 2005-2010, and 2013-2015

Mitsugu Takahashi

Navigator of Car 2
Japan Racing Management Co., Ltd.
Born on July 4, 1975 (Yokote-shi, Tokyo)
Takahashi has been a crucial supporting member of the team since Dakar Rally 2011, when he first took part as driver of the assistant car. Having racked up a solid track record as Yoshimasa Sugawara’s navigator in Rally Mongolia (2012, 2013, and 2015), he will navigate in the Dakar Rally 2018 following 2016 and 2017.

Seiichi Suzuki

Mechanic leader
Japan Racing Management Co., Ltd.
Born on January 30, 1961 (Minato-ku, Tokyo)
Suzuki has participated in a large number of international rallies as both navigator and mechanic.
(22 times in the Dakar Rally, 8 in the Rally Mongolia, twice in the Egypt Pharaoh Rally, once in the Australian Safari, and twice in the Silk Way Rally)

Yoichi Okabe

Mechanic sub-leader
Hino Motors, Ltd.
After engaging in remodeling of prototype vehicles essential for development of production vehicles, he was involved in the production line launch for bonnet trucks for the North American market, as well as interior and exterior assembly of prototype cabs in Japan, after which he returned to work in remodeling. After entering Silk Way Rally and Rally Mongolia in 2017, he will meet the challenge of Dakar Rally in 2018.

Yuki Takano

Gunma Hino Motor, Ltd.
Born on January 21, 1988 (Ota-shi, Gunma)

Hiroki Kinoshita

Yokohama Hino Motor, Ltd.
Born on August 20, 1978 (Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa)

Aiichiro Yamauchi

Toyama Hino Motor, Ltd.
Born on September 29, 1984 (Tomiya-shi, Miyagi)

Ryota Shibutani

Kobe Hino Motor, Ltd.
Born on September 23, 1986 (Kakogawa-shi, Hyogo)

Koji Tanaka

Support car driver
Japan Racing Management Co., Ltd.
Born on January 29, 1991 (Hatsukaichi-shi, Hiroshima)

Masaki Satoh

Support car driver
Hino Motors, Ltd.
Born on June 13, 1977 (Hachioji-shi, Tokyo)

Daigo Maruta

Support car driver
Hino Motors, Ltd.
Born on July 10, 1978 (Yame-shi, Fukuoka)

Hayato Takahashi

Support car driver
Hino Motors, Ltd.
Born on April 28, 1982 (Higashikurume-shi, Tokyo)

Mayumi Kezuka

Support member
Japan Racing Management Co., Ltd.
Born on January 2, 1993 (Hidaka-shi, Saitama)